top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverlinde.esk

Too-Rye-Ay - Kevin Rowland & Dexys Midnight Runners

Bijgewerkt op: 12 dec. 2020

The sleeve does not prepare you for the new folk rock sounds filling the room when the turntable starts spinning. I have never heard of this band, I must admit. But the music fills my ears with recognisable tunes and some sort of familiarity.

With every record I come across I try to find out background information on the what, how, why and when for making and recording the specific album. For this one, I cannot wait to get to the end of side 2 as this is when the hit of 'Come on Eileen' can be heard. The first notes form already in my head but I am curious for the version on this record. The pressing I have is Brazilian from Mercury (1983). The combination of horns and strings gives a lively full sound, with the string-duo only recently being added to the band before recordings started, and the horn section leaving the band shortly after.

Some more digging makes me recognise Kevin Rowland on the cover, having some pictures of him on the side. The wish for a more Irish sound is noticable from the cover drawing but nothing else gives a hint of what you are about to hear. I am so pleasantly surprised by the tune, genre, use of instruments and the vocals, I am sure this album will be on the record player a couple of times more this week. And those vocals... you have to like the voice of course but being just not off tune and being just fitting with the music, it's very interesting and a joy to listen to.

And yes! I have rarely been so happy a record is near the end, as there is Eileen! Come on!


1 weergave0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Comments


bottom of page