top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverlinde.esk

No Way Before The Weekend - Turkey Bones & The Wild Dogs

Four owls are staring at me from the cover. The titel does not give away much either. What do I have here?

Well, that's a good question. I am not even sure what to call this type of music. This 1985 recording under Big Beats Records is a mystery to me. So let's investigate.

It is definately rock. Apparently we can call this swamp pop or indie rock. Some further digging tells me that this is the only album Turkey, Arab, Herman and Piece made. I am not devastated about it, I have to say. I am glad I did not count on this record for some much needed weekend musical vitamine. Luckily we all have different tastes. Nevertheless, don't judge an album by the first track or even the second. Whatever the reason for the order, hang in there and listen the full album. I survived the first two tracks, and the third actually grew on me. I just need a little more line or melody in a song I think. Too much grunge does not fit my attention span, but the Snake-song did. Quite funny when all I hear coming out of the speaker is words about a snake while four pairs of round orange owl-eyes are staring at me from across the room, almost in despair of the approaching snake. Side B does not continue to fullfil my hopes, though. Interesting that this was part of my father's private collection. What did he hear or know that I am missing? Well, let's move on to the next.


4 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Comments


bottom of page