top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverlinde.esk

Vinyl inspiration for a lifetime

Bijgewerkt op: 12 dec. 2020

Imagine an endless row of vinyl records of all sorts, of all genres, from all corners of the world. Does it not sound great? Welcome to my world...

The picture you see on the side comes from an old postcard from an unknown artist. I remember my father saying that the woman on the photograph reminded him of my grand mother, his mother in law. I have never known her but always feel proud when such comments are made. People might not be walking around on this planet any more, but they are far from forgotten. For as long as people are willing to remember. Remember the good, remember the bad, remember the ugly... just kidding, but not actually. All these parts make up someones life, your relationship with them, and ultimately your memory of them.


When my father passed away, he left me with an enormous collection of vinyl records, but also an extensive sellection of CD's and music related DVD's. Only to think of the number of collectables he would have added if he could have enjoyed life to a moment when we die of age, not of domestic clumsiness.

His music collection carries so many childhood memories and inspiration that I do not 'just' want to sell it. I want to listen to every record, let it sink in, and decide whether it will be part of my music collection from now on. Given the number of items to go through I might very well look like the woman in the picture by the time I reach the last one. Hopefully just as elegant and graceful as this lady.

Going on this musical journey I want to share this with anyone who is willing to be inspired just like me. If you think this could be you, feel free to join me on this trip. I have no clue where it ends, or when. Don't you just love such unknown roads?!


29 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Comments


bottom of page