top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverlinde.esk

De allerliefste songs - Julie London

Bijgewerkt op: 12 dec. 2020

The voice of Julie London is just amazing. Full of warmth and promise. The extremenly sweet songs she sings on this album are lovely, but give me a bit less balad and a bit more power.

The covers of mid and late 20th century recording for female vocalists rarely truly resemble the sound on the record, but this one is spot on. Gold coloured border, purple blouse, and earrings matching the blouse and the border. Her semi-intense in the direction of the camera and the title being "the sweetest songs" in Dutch gives away all there is.

But then she starts with one of the songs which made her famous, and you forget all about the prejudices of the cover. 'Cry me a river' sung by Julie London on this record (EMI, 1983) is wonderful. Different than other versions of the song I know. It makes me disregard my earlier statement that I would need more power, more guts. This is just perfect.




4 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Comments


bottom of page