top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverlinde.esk

Blue & Lonesome - The Rolling Stones

Bijgewerkt op: 12 dec. 2020

This album makes you feel anything but blue or lonesome.

Where do I start with all these records in front of me? Do I search for something I don't know for sure? Look for a cover I recognise? Take the one with the beautifull drawing on the front? There is no good or bad in this decision.

So I take the first crate I walk by and take out the album in front. Lucky me, I know this is going to be a small party! The album in my hands is the 2016 recording by The Rolling Stones called 'Blue & Lonesome' (2016 Promotone BV). It is a 2-LP with the recognisable logo on the front against a bright blue background. It just draws me to it.

My father's collection consists of both old records he bought in his youth, records collected

when he discovered new artists and developed his own taste in music, records from his hero's

when he was an teenager which he looked for for many years. But also newer records. However, most records are rather old, and my father was very selective to buy new records for himself. He always listened to new releases before displaying it in his store Tipitina, as he believed he needed to know what he was selling so he could match the album with someone who would appreciate it for sure. The number of records he bought for himself in the last years is not high though. So when I saw the 2016 Blue & Lonesome-album I knew it would be special.

And it is. A full sound fills my apartment. Delicious blues with a beautiful bass and gitar reefs as can be expected from The Stones. The recordings are rather clean and

I like it a bit more edgy but that does not change the fact that the music is fenomenal. And the 'I gotta go' version is just proper rock 'n roll. Whenever you feel blue or lonesome, this is the medicine.

15 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven

Comentarios


bottom of page